TBRS, Uncategorized

Hello September | Monthly TBR

Hey everyone ,

Can you believe it’s the First of September, where has the time gone? it seems to have flew over this year but I love this month when the leaves start changing colour and the weather starts to get colder. I can’t wait to get my woolly jumpers out.

I thought I would try doing a monthly TBR this month due to only reading four books in August. I’m hoping it’s a better month this month as the kids will be back in school , kittens are settling in there new home here and I’m finally able to sleep again, but enough rambling here’s what I plan to read.

The wolf and the water by Josie Jaffrey.

Im really excited to read this and was over the moon when I received it in the post and i love the cover.

Some secrets are worth killing for The ancient city of Kepos sits in an isolated valley, cut off from the outside world by a towering wall. Behind it, the souls of the dead clamour for release. Or so the priesthood says.
Kala has never had any reason to doubt their word – until her father dies in suspicious circumstances that implicate the city’s high priest. She’s determined to investigate, but she has a more immediate problem: the laws of the city require her mother to remarry straight away.
Kala’s new stepfather is a monster, but his son Leon is something altogether more dangerous: kind.
With her family fractured and the investigation putting her life in danger, the last thing Kala needs is romance. She would rather ignore Leon entirely, however difficult he makes it. But when she learns the truth of what really clamours behind the wall at the end of the valley, she faces a choice: share what she knows and jeopardise her escape, or abandon him to his fate along with the rest of the city.
If she doesn’t move fast, then no one will make it out of the valley alive. 


Ice cream and indie music by Suzanne hart

I couldn’t believe when I got the request for this book, the author is local to where I live and it was posted through my letterbox for me .

Charlie lives in a small village in Norfolk. Her life revolves around school, work and watching her favourite local band, ‘Projects’. Thankfully, Ryan is on hand to drive her to all of these things. During end of school celebrations with her best friends, Dot and Ryan, she agrees to accompany the band on a tour of the UK in a battered old ice cream van.

With each passing venue, Charlie grows in confidence as she is away from all that has shaped her as a person to this point. Friendships are tested and feelings change as the journey unfolds. Ice Cream and Indie Music is a coming of age adventure of a girl just starting to realise who she is and what life is all about. And, whilst wanting nothing more than to watch her favourite band all summer, she finds herself falling in love.


Malice by John Gwynne

I seen so many great things about this book on twitter and thought I would give it a try, it definitely caught my attention with the blurb.

A black sun is rising … 

Young Corban watches enviously as boys become warriors under King Brenin’s rule, learning the art of war. He yearns to wield his sword and spear to protect his king’s realm. But that day will come all too soon. Only when he loses those he loves will he learn the true price of courage. 

The Banished Lands has a violent past where armies of men and giants clashed shields in battle, the earth running dark with their heartsblood. Although the giant-clans were broken in ages past, their ruined fortresses still scar the land. But now giants stir anew, the very stones weep blood and there are sightings of giant wyrms. Those who can still read the signs see a threat far greater than the ancient wars. Sorrow will darken the world, as angels and demons make it their battlefield. Then there will be a war to end all wars. 

High King Aquilus summons his fellow kings to council, seeking an alliance in this time of need. Some are skeptical, fighting their own border skirmishes against pirates and giants. But prophesy indicates darkness and light will demand two champions, the Black Sun and the Bright Star. They would be wise to seek out both, for if the Black Sun gains ascendancy, mankind’s hopes and dreams will fall to dust.


The lies we tell by Becca Steele

I’ve already started reading this last night and am currently about half way through, I’m really enjoying it so far.

Starting over after my father’s sudden death was bad enough, but the four boys who rule Alstone College, my new university, are determined to make my life even more difficult. One in particular. Caiden Cavendish.
My nightmare. My shadow. My stepbrother.

My dad’s death was an accident… Lie.
My life isn’t in danger… Lie.
The Four won’t bring mayhem to my life… Lie.
I don’t want Caiden Cavendish… Lie.
Lies.
Lies.
Lies.

Eeny, meeny, miny, mo.
The Four are coming for you, Snow.



Note: This book is not a standalone, and may contain triggers for some readers.


The twisted tree by Rachel Burge

I seen this on kindle unliked and had to have it , I’ve very intrigued on this one and love the cover.

Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of Coralineand Michelle Paver.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma’s cabin and became blind in one eye.

Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor – only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in . . .

Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, 
The Twisted Tree is a ghost story that twists and turns – and never takes you quite where you’d expect.


For reasons unknown by Michael wood | A DCI Matilda Darke thriller.

I was recommended this by a lovely blogger on twitter Clare Janet Mason and honestly it sounds so good!!

Two murders. Twenty years. Now the killer is back for more…

DCI Matilda Darke has returned to work after a nine month absence. A shadow of her former self, she is tasked with re-opening a cold case: the terrifyingly brutal murders of Miranda and Stefan Harkness. The only witness was their eleven-year-old son, Jonathan, who was too deeply traumatized to speak a word.

Then a dead body is discovered, and the investigation leads back to Matilda’s case. Suddenly the past and present converge, and it seems a killer may have come back for more…


So I haven’t gave myself many books to read this month but these are what I’m hoping to read, If I read just these great if I read more even better.

What do you have planned for reading in September?

Have you done a monthly TBR?

13 thoughts on “Hello September | Monthly TBR”

  1. Good luck with your TBR. I just finished putting mine together and I have so many books I want to get to I hope I manage to read them all lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s