reviews, Uncategorized

| review | For Reasons unknown by Michael Wood

Title : For reasons Unknown

Genre : mystery , crime , thriller

Pages : 335 (kindle)

Publication :1st October 2015 by killer reads

My rating : 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Two murders. Twenty years. Now the killer is back for more…

A darkly compelling debut crime novel. The start of a brilliant series, perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Val McDermid, and James Oswald.

DCI Matilda Darke has returned to work after a nine month absence. A shadow of her former self, she is tasked with re-opening a cold case: the terrifyingly brutal murders of Miranda and Stefan Harkness. The only witness was their eleven-year-old son, Jonathan, who was too deeply traumatized to speak a word.

Then a dead body is discovered, and the investigation leads back to Matilda’s case. Suddenly the past and present converge, and it seems a killer may have come back for more…

I enjoyed everything about this book, it’s my first time reading anything from Michael Woods and while reading I kept thinking why haven’t I read from this Author before? I was recommended this book from a lovely person on Twitter and have to say I’m so glad she recommended it .

I really enjoyed DCI Matilda Darke’s character, she’s been dealing with a lot a work disaster and a personal tragedy servers months previously.l, struggling to regain her confidence and resume her career as head of the murder investigation. When she is assigned a 20 year old double murder cold case to ease her back, the case takes a unexpected turn and changes into a very active situation.

I found this story a gripping engaging mystery and a great crime thriller, it has awesome twists and brings the story to life.

The only thing that disappointed me in this story is the ending, well I would say it disappointed me but I thought it would of have had a bigger ending but I will say with the ending I’m very intrigued to read the next book in this series.

I really enjoyed the Authors writing style and how you had many different POV’s in the story, I found it really easy to follow and he kept me turning the pages and on the edge of my seat with many twists and turns. I loved the way he brought the characters to life through his writing and how he describes them.

I really enjoyed into the woods by Michael wood and honestly can’t wait to read the next one and see how DCI Matilda does in the next book, I have a new Author to read and have seen he has many books published that I can’t wait to try.

9 thoughts on “| review | For Reasons unknown by Michael Wood”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s